Last Updated on May 11, 2022 by Fair Punishment Team
Unless it’s an emergency or you’re part of the emergency services, it’s generally accepted that speeding on the roads isn’t okay – and this is why law enforcement might issue you a speeding ticket if you’re caught going over the set speed limit.
Any time you receive a speeding conviction, points may be applied to your drivers license and the same applies if you pay a speeding fine without defending yourself in the courts. What you may not know is, by paying a speeding ticket or paying a fine is by proxy, admitting guilt to the alleged offense.
States in the US will differ on their rules for how many points you can get on your license before it’s suspended or other punishments handed out. As it’s a state function, the way we can examine speeding rules and violations is by looking at a few example states and see what their laws are.
Speeding In The States
So, it’s worth us looking at some states and checking out their rules on speeding. Note that not all states are the same and punishments may vary depending on your personal circumstances and nature of the traffic offense.
Georgia and Illinois
In the states of Georgia and Illinois, the biggest penalty you can get for your first speeding violation is $1,000 but if you make matters worse – you can in theory, wind up in jail for one year!
If a driver in Nevada gets 12 detriment points in one year, they will automatically have their license suspended for 6 months but after 3 months, you can drive with a restricted license. If this happens twice in 3 years, you get a year’s suspension on your license with a restricted license after 6 months.
If this happens a third time within 5 years – your license is suspended for one year but you do not have the advantage of a restricted license after a duration – you simply cannot drive for one year.
In Nevada, it’s a misdemeanor to drive on a suspended driver’s license which can incur a 6 month jail sentence and a fine of $1,000. The biggest detriment points you can receive for one offense is 8 points for reckless driving – but of course, it’s possible to be written up for several driving violations at once.
New Hampshire punishes drivers aged 21 and over by suspending their license if you receive 12 points within a year. If you receive 18 points within a period of 2 years – your license gets suspended for 6 months. If you get 24 points in 3 years, your license gets suspended for 12 months.
Once again, reckless driving warrants the highest single point penalty which is 6. First time offenders may have to pay a maximum fine of $1,000 like other states. It’s also worth noting that you can get a speeding ticket if you do not drive at least 10mph slower than the speed limit when driving through school zones.
North Carolina assesses their driving punishments by a driver’s history of driving offenses. However, the typical rules are that if you receive 12 points in 3 years, your license will be suspended for 60 days.
If it gets reinstated and then a further 8 points are accumulated within 3 years, the driver will get a second suspension for 6 months. A third suspension will result in a year’s suspension from driving. Much like other states, the maximum penalty for first offenders is $1,000.
California’s first time offenders maximum penalty is less with $600. In terms of points, you cannot get more than 4 points within one year, 6 points within 2 years and 8 points within 3 years.
Virginia is known for being very harsh when it comes to speeding laws. There is not exactly a limit on how many detriment points you can receive but if you accumulate 12 points in one year or 24 in 18 months, the driver will be placed on probation.
After this period, there is a further 18 month control period which you’ll need to drive correctly in. Any single detriment point in this period can incur further suspensions and probation time. Driving over the speed limit can bring about a $2,500 fine!
What To Do If You Get A Speeding Ticket?
- Speeding violations can bring about marks on your driving record or suspensions along with heavy fines and possible jail time. It will also likely increase your insurance premium costs! Nobody wants to be in this position, but if you do end up here, there are some things you should consider doing.
- Ask the cop who pulls you over which method (how did they catch you) they used to measure your speed and make a note of it.
- Try to remain silent or say very little. You don’t want things being used against you in court.
Don’t argue with the officer and be as nice as you can.
- Make a full report for yourself with the details you remember, including the date, time, area, officer(s) that pulled you over, your vehicle and the method used to record your speed.
If you decide not to fight your speeding ticket and you pay it – it may seem like a small amount if it’s in the $50 area, but that can quickly get worse. Studies have shown that on average, a person in their 40s with a good credit score can pay an extra $300+ per year in insurance premiums with one offense listed on their record!
If you decide to fight the ticket, you should consider getting yourself an experienced attorney to assist and guide you through the process.