Last Updated on May 11, 2022 by Fair Punishment Team
If you’ve decided to replace your old mattress, you’re probably wondering how to go about it. Some people prefer to sell their used mattresses to help cover the costs of purchasing a new model. A mattress is one of the most challenging household products to sell secondhand. If you’re curious about how to sell an old mattress, this article will walk you through the process step by step, and provide information regarding resale regulations (see also our article on scalping tickets) (see also our article on scalping tickets). Please keep in mind that if your mattress is more than 5 or 6 years old, it is simply not worth selling at all, as the typical lifespan of a mattress is roughly 7 years.
Even if a mattress is still in excellent nick, there are a variety of reasons why someone would wish to replace it. Maybe you want a bigger bed, and if so, you’d probably want a new mattress to go along with it. Perhaps you have back troubles and require a different style of mattress that is better suited to relieving back discomfort. Maybe you are relocating and want to redecorate everything. The reasons are endless.
However, before you get rid of it, keep in mind that the resale of used mattresses is subjected to significantly more regulation than the selling of most home items. Old mattresses can be sold in most parts of the United States, but they must satisfy certain labeling and/or processing criteria.
While it is not unlawful to sell a used mattress anywhere in the United States, certain states and jurisdictions have their own rules and regulations that you must follow when selling a used mattress.
If you’ve decided to replace your old mattress, you’re probably wondering how to go about it. Some people prefer to sell their used mattresses to help cover the costs of purchasing a new model. A mattress is one of the most challenging household products to sell secondhand. If you’re curious about how to sell an old mattress, this article will walk you through the process step by step, and provide information regarding resale regulations. Please keep in mind that if your mattress is more than 5 or 6 years old, it is simply not worth selling at all, as the typical lifespan of a mattress is roughly 7 years.
Can I Legally Sell My Old Mattress?
Used mattress sale standards are governed at the state and local levels, so you’ll need to verify your local area for legal restrictions. Mattresses must be carefully sanitized before they can be sold in several states. Most laws mandate used mattresses to be clearly labeled as “used.” Others prohibit the selling of second-hand mattresses but permit the sale of mattress materials. Some, on the other hand, have very few, if any, restrictions.
Check if there are any secondhand mattress shops in your neighborhood, if your state allows merchants to sell old mattresses (many will not). If this is the case, reselling your bed to a store will most likely be the simplest option. You won’t get as much as if you sold straight to a buyer, but there will be significantly less effort.
What Restrictions Are Involved?
As mentioned above, not every State has restrictions for selling used mattresses. But one state that does is Texas. In Texas, mattresses for resale must be cleaned or sanitized in accordance with Texas Administrative Code Rule 205.8. The government allows for a variety of treatment procedures, including chemical sprays, steaming, and industrial laundry.
Cleaning with steam requires at least 20 minutes. While washing, dry heat is also a possibility, with the law mandating the use of specific dry heat tanks capable of delivering an average temp of 230 degrees Fahrenheit for at least one 1 hour and 15 minutes. Commercial suppliers must keep correct documents on the washing of used mattresses and make them accessible for examination by the state. All used mattresses that are to be sold, rented, or hired must be treated.
Some mattresses might have second hand slipcovers that have been used to conceal stains. The recycling of these coverings is prohibited by Texas law. Despite the cleaning solutions, they must be dumped before selling. New covers that have been washed cannot be used to substitute secondhand coverings. The use of unclean substances in the restoration or refurbishment of mattresses as well as other bedding is expressly prohibited by the state of Texas, even if the components are cleansed during antimicrobial treatments.
Until old mattresses are dealt with properly, retailers must segregate new and used mattresses. Resale mattresses are not permitted on the sales floor until they have been disinfected in accordance with state regulations.
How Can I Sell My Used Mattress?
Firstly, you must ensure that your mattress is spotless, as no one wants to purchase somebody else’s stained possessions. Again, depending on local requirements, having your mattress properly cleaned and sanitized may be required (though this may be a smart option regardless), but if it’s particularly filthy, we advocate ethically discarding it rather than reselling. Make the best decision you can.
If you do plan to sell your used mattress, there are numerous websites where you can do it. Notable sites include OfferUp, eBay, Craigslist, and Facebook Marketplace. When you buy a new mattress, the retailer may allow you to trade in your old one. Additionally, seeing whether any of your friends or family members are interested in buying it could save you a huge amount of time and effort with advertising.
When you’ve decided where to sell, we suggest collecting information about the mattress’s manufacturer, type, dimensions, and condition to create a listing. If possible, include a link to the company’s website where you can learn more about the mattress’s individual components.
A visually appealing listing is essential for a successful sale. Provide high-quality images, detailed and truthful captions, and conduct some research to ensure that your product is priced fairly in comparison to similar things on the market. However, be aware that it may take some time for your goods to sell. If you want to sell quickly, she recommends decreasing the price to bring in more customers. As a general rule, you should not charge more than 30% of the original retail value.