Last Updated on May 21, 2022 by Fair Punishment Team
If you are a driver, then you need to make sure that you follow the correct rules while driving. Otherwise you’ll end up with traffic tickets or you may be found guilty of a traffic violation or offense.
You are then fined and points are added to your driving license. It can be easy to forget about how many points you have on your license, however if you receive too many points then there are consequences.
In this article, we will be talking about how long points stay on your license in the state of Michigan.
Michigan Driving License Point System
Each time you plead or are found guilty of any traffic violations, the state adds one or more points to your driving license. When you pay a traffic ticket, that is seen as the same as saying you are guilty, which then results in points on your license.
The Michigan Vehicle Code determines how many points should go onto your license. Each traffic violence is worth a certain amount of points. Minor offenses can be up to two points, while much more serious offenses can be up to six points.
For each point that is placed onto your driving record, they will stay on your license for up to two years. Due to the Michigan law, you cannot get points off your driving license early. As a result, if you plead guilty or found guilty then the points that have been assigned to your license will stay there for two years.
You can hire a traffic attorney and fight either the ticket or offense you are being charged against. If your case gets dismissed, dropped or found to be innocent then avoid having any points being put onto your license. Apart from that, if you plead or are found guilty, then you can’t avoid having points on your license.
The best way to avoid points is to try and not gather any at all.
There are quite a few offenses that you can gather points on your license. Below we have accumulated some of the most common points that are given out in Michigan.
All of the following will give you two points on your driving license.
- Driver refusing to take a preliminary breath test, if they are under 21 years old.
- Diving with a suspended license.
- Driving 10 mph or less above the legal speed limit.
- Driving with an open alcohol container in the vehicle.
- Other moving violations that are not subject to a great number of points on your license.
All of the following will give you three points on your driving license.
- Disobeying a school crossing guard.
- Failing to stop for a school bus.
- Disobeying a stop sign or traffic signal.
- Failure to stop at a railroad crossing.
- Driving 11 to 15 mph above the legal speed limit.
- General careless driving.
All of the following will give you four points on your driving license.
- The driver being under 21 years old and being under the influence of alcohol.
- Drag racing.
- Driving any vehicle while being visibly impaired.
- Failure to stop for emergency vehicles.
- Driving 16 mph or more above the legal speed limit.
All of the following will give you six points on your driving license.
- Driving a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol.
- Any crime involving the use of a car such as vehicular manslaughter or negligent homicide.
- Moving violation which causes death or severe injuries.
- Fleeing from the police.
- Failure to stop and give identification at an accident scene.
- Refusal to take a chemical test.
- All forms of reckless driving.
What Happens If You Have Too Many Points On Your License
As mentioned it can be easy to forget how many points you have on your driver’s license. However, through the Michigan driver’s license system, if you have too many points, you may be asked to retake your driving exam. Whilst also you have a suspended driving license for a while.
4 points on your license – Within two years, if you gain four points on your driving license, you will receive a letter. This letter will come from the SOS explaining your points to you and reminding you that you need to drive carefully. Essentially this is a warning letter, to not get any more points on your license.
8 points on your license – Eight points on your license, will result in another letter. This letter will explain that if you gather any more points on your license you will need to take another driving exam. Alongside that all your driving privileges may be suspended.
12 points on your license – Twelve points on your license results in you receiving a letter explaining you need to retake your driving exam. This exam will look at a review of your driving history, alongside a test of your traffic safety knowledge. An eyesight test and driving test will also take place.
The next step depends on the outcome of your exam. You may be able to move forward with no further consequences. Although, this is a rare occurrence, because typically drivers who have twelve or more points have their license suspended, revoked or restricted for months or years.
If your license is suspended, you can appeal against this, but it is difficult to win your case. As the high number of points on your license work against you. You may be able to regain your license earlier than the set date, by enrolling in an education program.
When you have a large amount of points on your license, your insurer won’t be very happy. This is because you will be seen as a high risk. Therefore, your insurer will increase your insurance rates.
In Michigan, points on your license will stay on your driving license for two years in total. You cannot get your points removed early, they will stay on for the full two years. If you gain too many points, then this results in warning letters and the possibility of re-taking your driving exam. It can be easy to ignore the points on your license but they can slowly mount up.
The takeaway here is to remember to drive properly or safely, and to gain as little points as possible.