What are the 6 Points of ID in NJ

Last Updated on May 21, 2022 by Fair Punishment Team

Regardless of which U.S. state you call home, if you want to apply for a driver’s license or another type of license or permit, you’ll need to provide some form of identification.

In the state of New Jersey, however, obtaining such permits and licenses requires that the applicant provide several forms of identification, each amounting to a certain number of points. These are known as the 6 Points of ID.

However, this application process is a little more complicated than simply providing a few identifying documents. Not only are different documents worth different numbers of points, but there must be at least one document for

Read on to find out why the 6 Points system is in place in New Jersey and which forms of identification are acceptable.

What Are The 6 Points of ID

The 6 Points of ID is a point-based identity verification system in New Jersey.

Under this system, applicants for driver’s licenses, boating licenses, non-driver ID cards, and other permits are required to provide multiple forms of ID, including at least one document from 4 specific categories.

Why Is The 6 Points System In Place?

New Jersey asks for 6 Points of ID because providing several forms of identification is the best way to ensure that a person is who they say they are.

Fraud and identity theft are, unfortunately, more common than many people realize. A system such as the 6 Points of ID makes it more difficult for someone to fraudulently apply for a permit or license under another person’s name because they would need to have access to at least 4 of the victim’s identifying documents.

Which Forms of ID Are Accepted?

In order to apply for a permit or license in the state of New Jersey, you will need to provide each of the following types of identification.

Primary Documents

The first type of ID you’ll need to hand over for your application is a primary document. Primary documents are worth 4 points on the 6 Point system. You must provide the original document as photocopies will not be accepted.

Primary documents accepted for the 6 Points of ID include:

  • Birth certificate (U.S.-issued)
  • Current passport (U.S.-issued)
  • Expired passport (U.S.-issued, less than 3 years)
  • Non-U.S. passport (customs/immigration verified)
  • Certificate of Citizenship (U.S.)
  • Current driving license (New Jersey only)
  • Current digital boating license (New Jersey only)
  • Current non-driver ID (New Jersey only)
  • Adoption papers (U.S.-issued)
  • Certificate of Naturalization
  • Valid Active Duty Military photo ID (U.S.)
  • Refugee travel documentation

Please be aware that the Department of Motor Vehicles in New Jersey is no longer accepting Puerto Rican birth certificates dated prior to 2010. New Jersey residents born in Puerto Rico may apply for an updated certificate by contacting the Puerto Rican government.

Secondary Documents

When applying for a license, permit, or ID card in New Jersey, you will also be required to present one secondary document. Unlike primary documents, which are each worth 4 points, secondary documents can be worth 1, 2, or 3 points. You may only use up to 2 1-point documents.

3-Point Documents

  • Marriage certificate (or equivalent)
  • Divorce certificate
  • Employment authorization photo card
  • Military retiree photo card (U.S.)
  • Name-change court order (signed by clerk or judge)

2-Point Documents

  • Temporary registration card
  • Government employee photo ID
  • Government employee driving license
  • College/school photo ID (including transcript)
  • Military discharge documents (U.S.)
  • Pilot license (F.A.A.)

1-Point Documents

  • State professional license
  • Out-of-state driving license
  • Social security card
  • Social services ID (New Jersey only)
  • Health insurance card
  • College diploma
  • High school diploma
  • General Education Development Test transcript
  • Bank statement
  • ATM card (signed)
  • Property tax statement (New Jersey-issued)
  • Veterans Affairs photo ID card


In addition to the requisite primary and secondary documents, you’ll also have to provide documentation that does not count towards your points of ID.

One such document is proof of address. This could be a bill, bank statement, or transcript, as long as it clearly displays your full name and your current address. The purpose of the proof of address is to confirm where you live and match the proof to your primary and secondary documents.


Finally, the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission will need either your Social Security Number or your Individual Taxpayer Identification Number.

Your number will be put through the relevant database and matched with your name and date of birth, which should be present on your proof of address as well as your primary and secondary documents.

How To Prepare For The 6 Points Of ID

Because the 6 Points of ID is such a thorough system of identity verification, it’s not something that you should prepare for on the day of your application.

Well in advance of your application, you should check that you have original copies (not photocopies) of all the documents you need from the lists above.

Remember, you need at least one primary document, at least one secondary document, one document that proves your current address, and either your Social Security or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number.

Make sure that the documents you choose add up to at least 6 points. You can’t use more than two 1-point documents, and your proof of address and SSN/ITIN number don’t count towards your point total.

If you don’t have access to all of the necessary documents, you may need to contact either a federal or state agency to obtain them.

It is also important to remember that some legal and government documents will not be considered valid forms of identification unless they bear a municipal or state seal.

You can still use valid, in-date documents featuring a previous name (for example, your maiden name or your name prior to a divorce). However, you will need to bring proof of the name change with you on the day you submit your documents.

Final Thoughts

New Jersey’s 6 Points of ID is a very thorough system of identity verification designed to prevent fraud and identity theft. The system is used by the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission to verify the identities of license and permit applicants.

Under the 6 Points system, New Jersey residents are required to provide 4 different types of supporting documentation for a license, ID, or permit application. These documents can be worth 1 to 4 points each, and the documents provided must total at least 6 points.

Applicants need to provide a primary document (such as a birth certificate), a secondary document (like a marriage certificate), proof of address, and their Social Security or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number.

More than one primary or secondary document may be required depending on how many points the chosen secondary document is worth.

Before submitting your 6 Points of ID, make sure that all documents are original copies and either valid or within the expiry timeframe.